Summer training week 7: 56 miles!

Summer 2016 week 7 (7/4-7/10):

this weekMonday 7/4: AM: 7 miles, drills, strides, pull-ups/push-ups/dips.  PM: 3 miles in the pouring rain.
Tuesday: 20 min warm-up, drills, fartlek (6 minutes-5-4-3-2-1 with half-time recovery), 20 min cool down.  Total = 10 miles.
Wednesday: AM: 5 miles Potomac Heritage Trail.  PM: abs/core
Thursday: AM: 7 miles, drills, strides, pull-ups/push-ups/dips.  PM: 3 miles treadmill, 20 min yoga
Friday: AM: 2 mile warm-up, drills, 24 min tempo, 2 mile cool down.  PM: 2 miles treadmill, light leg lift
Saturday: off, a bit of core/yoga
Sunday: 11 miles.

Total: 56 miles

First of all, who’s been watching the Olympic Trials??  Incredible.  Noah Lyles set the national high school record in the 200!  Kate Murphy and Christina Aragon qualified for the 1500 semis!  Crazy.

Anyway…

I kind of miss cross training?!  At this point, I hardly remember the struggle of four cross trains per week!  Highest mileage week ever (again)- we’re getting closer to that 60 mile mark.  My legs are definitely feeling the higher mileage; the treadmill doubles in the afternoon were no faster than 8:00-8:30 pace.  The temperature and humidity levels were a lot higher this week than previous weeks, so that was definitely an adjustment.

I ran with a teammate for my long run today, and we were both pretty tired, so we took it easy.  Refueled with some blueberry pancakes with butter and maple syrup, coffee, a fried egg, plain Greek yogurt with almonds, and Nuun. Yum 🙂

IMG_2164.jpg

My roommate came up to stay with me on Monday and Tuesday, so we got to work out together!  We were going to do more DC things to celebrate the 4th of July, but it was very rainy and miserable, so after a quick Metro adventure, we had a low-key night and watched A Capitol Fourth and the Olympic Trials on TV.

IMG_2128.jpg

For Wednesday’s run, my friend who loves trails convinced me to join him for a trail run on the Potomac Heritage Trail.  I do not love trail runs.  It took 50 minutes to go 5 miles.  I ended up first twisting my ankle, then getting poison ivy, then falling off the side of a rocky part of the trail and gashing my knee…Never again!!

IMG_2141.jpg

Thanks @PHT

Both of this week’s workouts (Tuesday and Friday) were pretty good.  My friend dropped me a little in the second half of Friday’s tempo, but it was a solid workout.

One thing I do need to work on is getting enough sleep.  As the mileage goes up, sleep gets more and more important!  Unfortunately, whenever I work the evening shift, I never get home earlier than 10:30 pm.  But I can stop procrastinating going to bed and get off my phone earlier.

 

Food of note: balsamic honey glazed salmon!  So good.  Also lots of ice cream 😉

IMG_2154.jpg

60 miles next week!

 

Leave a Reply

