Summer Training Week 8: 58 miles

Happy National Ice Cream Day!  My shift tonight is going to be crazy.

Okay, I had no idea what summer training week we were on, so I wrote “6” in the title for this post…then I realized it was the end of week 8.  How has it already been 8 weeks of summer training??

Summer 2016 week 8 (7/11-7/17):

Monday: AM: 7 miles bike path, drills, strides, upper body strength.  PM: 3 miles bike path
Tuesday: 20 min hilly w/u, fartlek (7-5-7-5 with 2 min rec), 20 min c/d
Wednesday: 3 miles + small hike
Thursday: AM: 7 miles bike path, drills, strides, upper body strength.  PM: 3 miles treadmill, some planks
Friday: AM: 2 mi w/u, drills, 24 min tempo, 2 mi c/d, ice bath.  PM: 2 mi treadmill, leg lift.
Saturday: 3 miles (went too fast), 15 min yoga, 5 min planks
Sunday: 12 miles bike path

Total: 58 miles + small hike

So I didn’t quite hit 60 this week, but that’s okay!  It’ll come.  On Wednesday, I was really tired and had an 8 am dentist appointment to get cavities filled–I’ve never had cavities before :(( –so I only did 3 miles instead of 5.

Both my workouts started out eh and got progressively better.  Tuesday’s workout was straight downhill for the first half and straight uphill for the second half, but I felt really strong on the last 5-minute section!  And on Friday, I was mentally negative throughout the first half of the tempo, but I realized “I can kick butt on this workout” during the second half.

Saturday’s 3-mile recovery run with a friend was way too fast.  Afterwards, we did yoga and core and went for brunch, and I had my first acai bowl!  Sunday’s 12 miles were done all alone…but oh well.

o.jpg

Acai bowl!  Source: Yelp 

My youngest brother’s birthday party was yesterday, and my mom and other brother made an amazing cake!  Three layers- chocolate cake, chocolate ice cream, chocolate cake- with vanilla and chocolate buttercream frosting, chocolate shavings, and strawberries.

Not much else to report, went on some outdoorsy adventures and read How to Start a Fire by Lisa Lutz.  It was okay, but I didn’t love it; the characters were sometimes weak, and the ending felt like a rushed cop-out.

Probably going to drop the mileage down this next week!  I talked with my coach about throwing some more cross training in there.

Leave a Reply

