Summer Training Week 9: all about the food!

It’s that time of the week again!  (It’s also 100 degrees and the air conditioner is broken, so I’m hibernating in the basement while I write this.)

IMG_2287

Farmer’s market goodness (tomatoes, peaches, kale, arugula, basil, and cranberry walnut goat cheese)

Summer 2016 week 9 (7/18-7/24):

Monday: AM: 7 miles, drills, pull-ups/push-ups/dips, 10 min abs.  PM: 10 min swim when the pool closed because of a thunderstorm.
Tuesday: 20 min warm-up, drills, 6 x [4:00h, 1:30e], 20 min c/d.  Strong workout!  Total = 10 miles
Wednesday: 5 miles, 10 min abs
Thursday: AM: 7 miles, drills, strides, upper body circuit.  Did 8 pull-ups!  PM: 3 miles.
Friday: AM: 2 mile warm-up, drills, 24 min tempo on hilly bike path, 2 mile cool-down.  Strong workout, although downhill pounding on asphalt was unpleasant.  PM: 2 miles treadmill @ 8:15ish pace
Saturday: off, 15-20 min yoga/planks
Sunday: 11 miles.  Hammered the second half a little.

Total: 53 miles + 10 min swim

Overall, this was an excellent week of training.  Monday’s run was really bad, as mentioned in the previous post, but I told myself to get over it and that it wasn’t a big deal.  The rest of the week was pretty great.  My legs felt like they were recovering nicely.

During Sunday’s long run, I ran normally for the first half, but then some guy passed me and then slowed down, so naturally I passed him back!  He stuck on me, so I had to prove I was faster than he was 😉 so I ran fairly faster during the second half and definitely felt it in the last two miles.

For a little non-running victory, during my strength circuit on Thursday, I decided to see how many pull-ups I could do instead of just doing sets of 4 like normal.  I did 8 in a row!!  Last year at this time, I could do zero.  #thankscollegetraining

IMG_2290.PNG

Thanks for documenting the moment, bro

Nutrition this week was so good!  I ate intuitively, mostly delicious, wholesome, home-cooked foods, but I also treated myself with ice cream and milkshakes at work whenever I wanted to.  I made an incredible sandwich for part of lunch today:  marinated teriyaki chicken, avocado, cranberry walnut goat cheese, and arugula on a toasted sandwich thin.

IMG_2288

Other goodness: spicy coconut chicken curry one night, fresh homemade blueberry muffins the next day, aesthetically pleasing oatmeal, and really good homemade wraps with Trader Joe’s lavash bread, guacamole, homemade pesto, tomato, and grilled chicken, along with zucchini sauteed in olive oil 🙂

As far as a non-running adventure, we went paddle-boarding again!  It was lovely.

IMG_2261

This week was mostly positive, although I did make a huge mistake at work that I felt so bad about 😦 but overall, a good week of training.

 

 

Leave a Reply

