Summer Training Week 10: HUMIDITY

Hello!  I just wrapped up my tenth week of summer training with 12 miles on the bike path.

Summer 2016 week 10 (7/25-7/31):

Monday: AM: 7 miles, SUPER humid so took it easy and felt good, drills, strides, core.  PM: 3 miles easy treadmill, felt good.
Tuesday: 20 min w/u, drills, 4 x 6:00 w/ 1:30 recovery, 20ish min c/d.  So humid again!  Legs were tired/heavy in the second half but overall pretty good workout.
Wednesday: 60 min stationary bike, felt nauseous/crappy.  Light strength circuit afterwards.
Thursday: AM: 7 miles, felt eh.  PM: 3 miles treadmill, short upper body circuit.
Friday: 2 mi w/u, drills, 24 min tempo on canal, 4 x [:30, :30], 2 mi c/d.  Felt tired but decent during the workout…for some reason, the rest of the day I was a zombie! 2+ hours of naps.
Saturday: 3 miles, abs/yoga
Sunday: 12 miles, felt strong in the second half, big negative split.

Total: 53 miles + 60 min bike
This week was kind of weird…Monday and Tuesday were normal but on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, I felt really out of it on my runs/XT.  Saturday was normal recovery and Sunday’s long run was surprisingly good, especially the second half…got into a groove thanks to a great playlist. 😉  Just felt run-down this week…I think part of it is the extreme heat/humidity and part of it is body imbalances.
Memorable moment: on Monday morning, I walked out of my house at 6:45 am to run and wasn’t sure if I had walked outdoors or into a sauna.  It felt like a hot tub.  This pretty much sums up the whole week weather-wise…
IMG_2299.jpg
I bought a box of the new nut-butter-filled Clif bars (coconut almond butter), and they’re so good!

Additionally, I spent three days dog-sitting for my friend, and her house is really close to both Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s…if I lived there, I would have zero money.  But I found the seasonal Siggi’s flavor- strawberry and basil!  It was pretty good, but the basil could be more prevalent.

Also played her piano for awhile…

IMG_2343

During the month of July alone, I ran over 230 miles (not counting cross training and hiking).  I worked over 100 hours.  I ate approximately 30 bowls of oatmeal and 30 bowls of ice cream 😉  Took too many power naps to count.  “Officially” started dating someone.  Read books and played the piano and watched the Olympic Trials.  It’s been a pretty good month.  And the best part is…five days until I see all my teammates, and just THREE WEEKS until I move back to school!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

