Summer Training Week 12

Oof.  It’s interesting how two consecutive weeks can differ so drastically.  The 60-mile high from last week came crashing down a bit this past week, and I am not feeling too hot.  There were a few decent runs, but this was overall a difficult week.

Summer 2016 week 12 (8/8-8/14):

Monday:  AM: 8 miles, drills, strides, upper body circuit.  PM: walked 5 miles in DC.
Tuesday: long hilly warm-up, hilly fartlek (6:00-5-5-4-3-2-1 with half-time recovery), 20 min c/d.  Total = 11+ miles.
Wednesday: 5 miles, abs
Thursday: AM: drills, 7 miles, strides.  PM: 30 min swim because peroneal hurt.
Friday: AM: 2 mile w/u, 24 min solo tempo, 2 mile c/d.  PM: 2 miles treadmill.
Saturday: off, 10 min yoga
Sunday: 11 miles pretty fast.

Total: 53ish miles, 30 min XT

OK, gotta release some negativity for a second…then we can move on 😉

So many things about this week sucked.  I was tired for both of my workouts (got through them though!), had peroneal pain later in the week, worked horrible 5-10 pm shifts on the weekend, and the weather did not cooperate.  My body feels like I got run over by a truck, and I think I’m fighting off an illness.  I’m stupidly stressed/worrying that I’m overtraining since I can’t even function right now.  Since I work at an ice cream and coffee place, I have to bend into the ice cream dip cases every 5 seconds, and every time I did that for the past two nights, I felt like I was going to pass out.  I am so over summer weather at the moment.  The entire week had a heat index of over 100 degrees, inching into the 110s with bajillion percent humidity.  I hate it.  It never got below 80 degrees even at 6 am.  The A/C in the store is broken, so it was almost 90 degrees inside the store.  The ridiculous weather makes every run feel shitty.

To summarize, this week knocked me flat on the ground.

But now to focus on the positives!  Monday’s run felt good, Wednesday’s run felt good, completed both my workouts, and I had a biking buddy for my entire long run on Sunday, which was amazing.

IMG_2557

Snapchat video quality…

I got to try out a cute local cafe and catch up with a friend over brunch!

And, of course, the concert was amazing.

IMG_2524

Made some delicious black bean brownies and a really good stir-fry lunch the other day.

The stir-fry: garlic, onions, red hot peppers, and rainbow carrots sauteed in olive oil, along with grilled chicken, basil, spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, corn, and avocado on the side.

Even though there were a lot of negatives, I’ve completed the last full solo training week of the summer, as I return to school this Saturday!  And I worked my last dreaded closing shift last night- no more super late nights- bless.

I texted my coach yesterday and told her I was feeling terrible, and she told me I could take today off, light, or anything, depending on how I was feeling.  I couldn’t sleep this morning, so I got up and ran 3 miles, and it didn’t feel great.  I’m still really tired and bleary-eyed. Therefore, later today, I will either run 4-7 miles, bike for like half an hour, or just do a light strength workout.  We’ll see.

In other news, Emma Coburn won the bronze medal in the 3k steeple at the Olympics!! She’s incredible!  In less-than-favorable conditions, she ran 9:07 to break her own American record!!  And how about the 19-year-old gold medalist, Ruth Jebet?  Amazing.

Almost school time ❤

Leave a Reply

