Travel adventures

(This was written yesterday evening)

Happy hump day! My team is currently en route to Penn State, where ten men and ten women will be racing on Friday. The WiFi on the bus isn’t working, so I can’t do homework…what a shame, right 😉

img_3228

Fall break was fun! (I do have a ridiculous travel story.) I took another complete off day on Sunday, so most of the day was spent doing some of my favorite activities. My mom was doing her longest long run of marathon training (23 miles!!), so I met her about 5 miles in to pick up my dog and deliver her water belt and sunglasses.

fullsizerenderAfterwards, I made pumpkin waffles for breakfast and then went to my favorite farmer’s market! I also had brunch at a favorite hipster coffee place with one of my good friends. Afterwards, I went to Trader Joe’s and Victoria’s Secret (hey, gotta take advantage of the 7/$27.50 sale while it lasts!).

Lunch: lemon blueberry scone, almond milk cappuccino, and a spinach, cheddar, and poached egg breakfast sandwich on a honey IPA roll. Not exactly the most balanced meal, but it was amazing.

Anyway, travel story: I was supposed to be back on campus by Sunday night, since we had morning practice on Monday and Tuesday. So I made plans to take the train back on Sunday night. Unfortunately, I ended up getting on the wrong train (I got to the station right as the train was loading, and it matched my ticket so I got on). The conductor didn’t check tickets for a while, and at some point I noticed that we were going too far west. When he did check tickets, he said I was on the wrong train and that he would sort it out. I’m not the type of person to freak out over travel disruptions, and I figured I’d get to my destination eventually, so I just stayed calm.

The conductor came back and said I should get off at the next stop and he had rerouted my ticket for a bus that would take me halfway to my destination, and then there would be another bus that would take me the rest of the way. At this point, we were about two hours into the journey. I got off the train at the next stop, and sure enough, there was a bus that took me to the next point. However, when I got to the station and asked the clerk about the next bus, she looked at me funny and said, “I don’t know why they told you that. There’s a train tomorrow morning, but no bus tonight.”

Great.

 At this point, it was 9 pm, and I was stranded two-thirds of the way to campus. Still wasn’t freaking out, though, because luckily my roommate lives close to where I was.   She was already on campus, but I called her parents and spent the night at their house. Took the train the next morning, so I missed practice, but at least I eventually got to campus!

So, yeah. While fall break was relaxing schoolwork-wise, it was a tiny bit stressful travel-wise 😉 Oh, well! It was great to be home for a little bit.

Tuesday’s workout- the last before Penn State- went pretty well. We warmed up for 3 miles and then did 2×400, 5×800, 4×400 on an 800m grass field. With the grass, we were a little slower than on a track. We were a few seconds off the range that the coaches gave us, but we stayed consistent, and I thought we did well.

img_3215

Splits: 82, 82, 2:53, 2:53, 2:53, 2:57, 2:54, 81, 80, 79, 79. Personally, the fourth 800 was a struggle, but I pulled it together for the fifth one. We had 60 seconds of rest between the first set of 400s and 90 seconds between everything else (except for 2 minutes before the last 400).

This morning, I ran 5 miles on the trails, and I was definitely tired from the workout. That’s okay, though.

Side note: guess who’s gone 5 straight days without Wawa (me)! I’ve stuck to my 8 oz coffee limit for almost a week. Yesterday, I didn’t even have any. #killingit

Leave a Reply

