Track goals

It’s indoor track season, sort of!

We’re currently smack in the middle of finals, and so far I’ve completed my Accounting and Hispanic Studies finals.  My brain hurts.  I still have psych and gender but not until next week, so I’m giving myself a break tonight 🙂

We’re continuing the mileage build-up; I ran 29 miles last week (plus some cross training) and will probably run around 38 or so this week (plus some cross training).  Running is hard…

unnamed

After some big fitness jumps during the past six months, I’m excited to see where the indoor and outdoor track seasons take me.  Track is much more of an individual sport than cross country, but we are all still working together to achieve our goals.  Our coach uses the indoor season as preparation for outdoor, but that doesn’t mean I can’t still make goals for both 🙂  These goals are all-encompassing: time-related, strength-related, and mentality-related.

Speaking of which, I went to the weight room for the first time in a month yesterday, and I am unspeakably sore today.  Can’t wait to get strong again 😉

15202489_1144478465648035_6347668192023012839_n.jpg

Goals for 2017 track:

  • Qualify for ECACs in the 3k and/or 5k.
    • I’ll update this once this year’s standards are released, but last year’s qualifying times were 9:56 and 17:16.  (My 3k PR from last year is 10:22).
  • Be able to do all sets of pull-ups/chin-ups unassisted in the weight room.
  • Increase hamstring flexibility and hip and glute strength.
  • Don’t mentally limit or doubt myself.  Believe in a high ceiling.
  • Support my teammates as much as I possibly can!

What I will do to do my best to achieve these goals:

  • Give my best in the weight room and focus on form, effort, and function.
  • Don’t half-ass rope stretching, rolling, etc.  Spend the extra 5 minutes being thorough to avoid injury.
  • As always, “Give 100% of whatever you have on any given day.”
    • This is my favorite thing my coach has ever said.  Some days are harder than others.  A lot of days truly suck.  That’s just the reality of being a Division 1 cross country and track athlete.  The bad days, the good days- they’re all part of the process.
    • As long as you try your best, you shouldn’t worry if some days you can’t hit the paces or some days you have to crawl your maintenance runs.  And appreciate the days where you hit paces you never have before!
  • Control the things you can control, and don’t worry about the things you can’t.
    • Sleep- go to bed at 10 pm as much as possible.
    • Nutrition- eat well most of the time, indulge sometimes, balance
    • Listen to your body
    • Yoga 😉

 

I’ll probably update these goals or expand upon them as my season progresses and once I find out qualifying times and race plans.  But this is where they stand for now!

Leave a Reply

