Dental “flap surgery”

I’m home!! and covered in dog hair to prove it 😉

Today was an interesting day for sure.  I woke up early, ran six miles on the trails around campus for the last time this year, and packed and cleaned until the dorms closed at 10.  Then it was off to spend midday with my mom until it was time for my dental surgery at 2.  We headed home around 4, hit major traffic, and here we are!

img_3866

This was inside

We explored some over-the-top Christmas stores before having lunch at my all-time favorite restaurant 🙂

img_3871

My lunch: hickory salmon, the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever had with a homemade honey mustard dressing, and roasted brussels sprouts.  Hers: an incredibly decadent grilled cheese with crab, asparagus, tomato, bacon, Gruyere, and Old Bay mayo, as well as a cup of shrimp bisque. This restaurant also provides the fluffiest rolls and sweet potato biscuits.

Then it was time for surgery!

Just for some context, I passed out and knocked my two front teeth out in 2012, started wearing a denture appliance in 2013, have recently had some problems with it, have had to take it out for every single meal, and am finally beginning the permanent implant process after four years.

img_3878This process requires three major steps: 1) inserting anchor screws into the jawbone area to act as the roots, 2) reopening the gums once the bone and screws meld, and 3) attaching the permanent fake teeth.  The first step, called “flap surgery”, happened today.

They shot me up with a local anesthetic, cut open my gums to access the jawbone, inserted the anchor screws, screwed them into place with a wrench, and sutured my gums back together.  In two months, once the bone and anchor screws fused (a process called osseointegration), they’ll reopen the gums, take impressions, and fit me for permanent teeth.

Anyhoo, I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to run for a few days, but the dentist gave me the all-clear to resume training as soon as tomorrow!  The first few hours after the surgery hurt like hell, but after some Aleve, Tylenol, and ice, everything feels a lot better now.  I was even able to eat shrimp alfredo pasta for dinner, and my lovely friend brought me Tropical Smoothie!

I’m going to spend the next couple days running, relaxing, organizing, and engaging in Christmas festivities.  The “break” part of my break really only lasts until Sunday because after that I will be working and running full-time until I return to school in mid-January.  I’ll be interning in DC with a less-than-ideal commute, so training twice a day will be really tricky and lots of planning and meal prep will be necessary.  But I’m looking forward to learning how to truly “adult” 😉  Honestly, after a rough last month, I think the best thing for me to do is stay busy and grow up!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

