Holidays and Killer Core

Happy Monday!  My face has finally unfrozen all the way from the numbing and surgery, so here is a shameless selfie from the Christmas party we hosted last night:

img_3909

My internship starts for real on Wednesday, so today involved some paperwork and drug testing.  I woke up at 5:45 am, ran 4 miles on the treadmill at 7:45ish pace, and drove out to the office.  I don’t love the treadmill, but I’ll have to get used to it over these next few weeks…

After getting home around mid-morning, I made a delicious, but aesthetically displeasing lunch (sweet potato, rotisserie chicken, roasted brussels sprouts, boiled carrots, and unpictured apple and peanut butter), and found seasonal Wild Friends peanut butter at TJ Maxx!  I went there in search of a blazer and gray pants and came out with crew socks and seasonal peanut butter, but…it happens.

For my second run of the day, I ran 5 miles through city streets and my high school track.  I stopped a million times at stoplights and to talk to former teammates and coaches, but it was a good run, and I went pretty fast.  Afterwards, I did core!  My new favorite core routine takes about 12 minutes and really works 🙂

Killer Core

  • 1 minute straight arm plank on swiss ball
  • 1 minute of bird-dogs (switch sides halfway through)
  • 10-15 rolls on the ab wheel
  • 30 seconds of toe touches + 30 seconds of penguins
  • 1 minute side plank each side, with movements or weights

Repeat x 2

The first time I did this routine, after getting stuck in a rut with the same 10-minute routine, I was sore for four days!  It even hurt to do things like close a window 😉

As I mentioned previously, we hosted our first holiday party in the new house last night!  But first I ran ten miles.  My friend from high school joined me for five of them, and I did five more on my own.  The party was fun and filled with good food- chili, cornbread, ham, apple cider, cranberry chevre, camembert, gingerbread, sugar, and chocolate chip cookies, etc.  However, one long run + four hours of intensive socializing (and having the same conversation about college with 30 different adults) caused me to crash real hard around 8 pm, so I took a quick power nap/rest before bouncing back!

I’m going to savor my last day before the work grind truly starts by spending tomorrow at the gym and with friends.  Then, it’s time to enter the land of meal prep, 5 am (and 6 pm) treadmill runs, and trying to dress like a real adult 😉

Leave a Reply

