Spring semester! + a setback

Hello from campus!  I moved back into the dorm on Sunday afternoon, and spring semester classes started yesterday.

This semester, I’m taking three business classes and two Spanish classes.  I just declared a Hispanic Studies major yesterday, and I’m currently a marketing minor with the hopes of becoming a double major!  This semester’s class schedule is a little funky, and I’m going to have to miss the lifting sessions with the team 😦 but on the plus side, I have no class on Fridays!  I also have 4 and a half hours between classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, which is why I have time to write this post!

I’m a little apprehensive about the intensity of my courses, but I’m also looking forward to them.

IMG_4161.jpg

Last week’s training (1/9-1/15):

M: 3 miles after work + core/yoga
T: AM: drills, 7 early miles, strides.  Went well!  PM: 2 miles to gym + lift day 1.  Felt a little burnt out from the day.  Total: 9 miles.
W: workout with teammates on canal.  3 miles warm-up (too fast…), drills 3 x [9 min progression, 5 min maintenance].  First two sets were rough but I pulled my head out of my butt for the third set and it went really well.  2 mile cool down.  Total = 11 miles.
Th: AM: 5 early miles.  Legs were very heavy/feet sore from the day before.  Not a great run overall, but some good moments.  Core afterwards.
F: AM: drills, 7 early miles, strides.  Felt awesome! Last work day!  PM: 4 miles, felt awesome again! + upper body lift stuff.  Total: 11.
Sat: 3 mile warm-up, drills, 2 x 200 (37, 36), 3 x [1000, 600] with 2 min btwn intervals and a lap btwn sets.  3:37, 2:04, 3:36, 2:01, 3:35, 2:01.  2+ mile cool down.  Feet hurt on cool down.  TBH just wanted to be done the whole time… Total = 9ish.
Sun: 8 miles– feet were in absolutely horrible pain and I ran so slowly and was limping and wincing the whole time.  Finished up with 40 min bike and they were not in any more pain, so it’s definitely the impact.

Total: 56 miles + 40 min bike.
I unexpectedly had two awesome runs on Friday, but that was where it ended.  For Saturday’s workout, I kind of wanted to be done the whole time and chose all the shortest options.  My toes started to hurt a lot on the cool down, and Sunday’s long run only made it epically worse.  Three miles in, I was wincing and limping, but I was on an 8-mile loop and couldn’t go any shorter.  I finally got back to campus and limped to the bike, where I finished the “long run” with a pain-free 40 minutes.
So for the past few days, I’ve been putting in hours on the bike and in the pool, and yesterday I got to use the Alter-G (anti-gravity treadmill) for the first time!  I ran 4 miles at 75% bodyweight.  Unfortunately, it didn’t help much.

My toes feel inflamed and stretched out, if that makes any sense, and I’m continuing to experience a lot of bunion pain.  The athletic trainers haven’t really been able to pinpoint a cause, either, but I seem to be experiencing a lot of symptoms of metatarsal bursitis, so maybe I’ll ask about that.

I also need to remember not to go too hard with the cross training.  This morning, the last thing I wanted to do was get on the infernal spin bike in the windowless room.  I was miserable and exhausted for an hour.  Mentality is key!  This is just a minor setback 🙂

Leave a Reply

