Redshirting indoors + high volume week recap

Happy Sunday!  This weekend has been pretty low-key, but still fun: dinner get-together at a friend’s apartment, long run, homework, laundry, coffee shops, lunch with my roommate’s family, business school application…I could discuss the recent bullshit developments in American foreign policy, but as this is a running blog, I will spare you most of my opinions.  I just have to say that no human being should be considered illegal.

Anyway- back to the running!  Or cross training, or what have you.  My coach apparently decided that this week would be the “week of all the volume”, and I am definitely feeling the effects.  In a good way, for now 😉

IMG_4184.jpg

What did people do before planners were invented?

Week of 1/23-1/29:

Monday: AM: 60 min pool (40 aqua jog, 20 swim), trainer for stim/ice.  PM: 4.5 mile run on turf, track, and roads + 15 min stationary bike + 10 min core.
Tuesday: AM: 6 mile run + lower body lift + heat/stim at trainer.  Later AM: 40 min aqua jog
Wednesday: 70 minute pool workout, heat/stim at the trainer.
Thursday: AM: 2 lap w/u, form drills, hurdle drills, speed ladder, 7 mile run, upper body lift.  Heat/stim at trainer.  PM: 30 min stationary bike.
Friday: AM: 60 min pool workout, heat/stim at trainer.  PM: 5 mile run.
Saturday: 10 mile run on trails and roads (7:15ish pace, I think) + 20 min stationary bike.  Used NormaTec boots afterwards.
Sunday: 3 miles, very tired.

Total: 35.5 miles + 295 minutes of cross training

Um wow!  Highest volume week ever.  If 10 minute XT counts as the equivalent of one mile of running, then this week was the equivalent of 65 miles!!  My feet and toes felt pretty good overall, except for some pain and soreness in the toes and bunions at the end of the longer runs from the prolonged impact.

Since the pool hours are a bit weird, I ended up getting up very early every day this week.  This necessitated lots of overnight oats for breakfast and goggle marks look in class 😉  I shall share my favorite overnight oats recipe in another post!

My teammate and I were lucky enough to be able to try out the NormaTec boots for the first time after yesterday’s long run, and they were so cool!  They provide gradual, increasingly intense compression up and down your legs, like an undulating massage.  Great for recovery, especially when your long run volume isn’t quite where it usually is and you have to supplement with cross training afterwards!

IMG_4207.jpg

This week was definitely very tiring, and I am planning on dropping the overall volume throughout this coming week, even while increasing running mileage.  I did stim and heat at the training room all week for pain maintenance.  My sleep patterns were whack this week- waking up 5-10 times every night, unable to sleep past 6 am…the usual, I suppose! Over the past few months, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I sleep very poorly at night when training is most intense. Thankfully, this semester’s class schedule has enough time in the afternoon for almost-daily naps!

In a meeting with my coach earlier this week, one of the things we discussed was my short-term and long-term running plans.  Our program treats indoors as kind of preparation for outdoors, with the overall team focus on the outdoor conference championships.  As she was telling me that she wants me to focus on building a huge base and getting the feet 100% again before worrying about racing, I asked, “Can I redshirt?”

 The idea had been floating around in my head for awhile; I would only race a couple times this season, and I do want to take a fifth year to earn a master’s degree or go to law school as well as maximize running potential.  Turns out, she was on the exact same page!  So we decided that I would redshirt this indoor season and maybe race unattached or in a road race at the end of February.
Anyway, that’s it for the major updates!  I hope everyone has had a great weekend.
Leave a Reply

