400 meter repeats

Greetings from my bed, where I will be spending the rest of this #lit Friday night.  I don’t have class on Fridays, so after completing a quick two-mile shakeout and savoring the luxury of having time to make my favorite oatmeal breakfast, I spent a quality day with my accounting textbook, legal textbook, and Spanish paper before heading to practice.

We had a track workout today (my first full one back!), and afterwards a group of us went out to dinner! Dinner was delicious, and not what I usually eat!– I had a gyro on pita with lots of tzatziki sauce, a mountain of french fries with ketchup, and a cannoli– but I think I went a little overboard with the dairy today.  That, coupled with a hard track effort and first ice bath in awhile, has made my stomach feel less than stellar.  So I’m just going to drink some tea and watch Chicago Fire and get ready for the long run bright and early tomorrow morning 🙂

12512459_10205500456621263_7865146084769163993_n

(Stole this photo from my friend’s Facebook)

Anyway!  Today’s track workout marked the first full workout I’ve done in three weeks!  On Tuesday, one of my teammates and I did 5 x 800 (2:55, 2:52, 2:51, 2:51, 2:50) and felt good about the paces but was sore for days afterwards.  But that was not quite a full workout 😉  Today, most of the team was either doing their pre-meet run and strides in preparation for their races tomorrow, but five of us were on the track.

The workout was straightforward: 20 minute warm-up; drills; strides; 3 sets of [4×400] with a lap on the turf in between sets; 3 mile cool down.  The first set was at 5k pace (82) with 60 seconds recovery, second set was at 3k pace (78) with 90 seconds recovery, and last set was around mile pace or faster (76) with 2 minutes recovery.

Set 1: 81, 82, 81, 81
Set 2: 78, 76, 76, 77
Set 3: 76, 76, 76, 72

It was very gray and gloomy the whole time, but we had a blast.  I was very pleased with the workout.  It was definitely hard and a bit of a shock to these legs that have gotten complacent with being slow-twitch over the past three weeks, but I felt comfortable hitting the times!  Our group of three worked very well together, and the longer rest really helped us continue to feel good as the intervals got faster.

On the last interval, our coach had all five of us start together in a kind of “free for all”, and they took it out hard.  The last 150 was one of the longest 150 meter stretches I’ve ever run in my life.  The lactic acid was brutal… But I split a 72, so that was a nice rust-buster!  If only I could hold that for 7.5 laps to run a 9:00 3k 😉 (or even just one 4:48 mile would be nice.)

14702347_10207258420569263_7997639733890529256_n.jpg

Also stolen from friend’s Facebook

Total mileage for the day was around 11, counting the morning shakeout.  Working out with teammates is awesome.  I love it.  I missed it so much.  Today was a surprise confidence booster and showed me that my fitness is still in a good place.  See- pool workouts really do work!!

Leave a Reply

