Summer Training Week 2

Happy Sunday!  I hope everyone had a great week.  It’s a beautiful June morning here, and I’m suffering from a mild case of wanderlust 😉 so I’m listening to a road trip playlist while writing this post and pretending I’m cruising down the open road.  Today was a typical Sunday- took the day off from running, went to the farmer’s market, did some wedding planning with my mom’s best friend, and went to a yoga class.  My family is going out to dinner in a little while 🙂

IMG_6252.jpg

Farmers’ market haul!

Week 2: (5/30-6/4)

Monday: AM: 5 miles + core circuit. Some bunion pain.  PM: 3 miles.
Tuesday: glute activation, drills, 4 miles into 20 min bike + lower body lift
Wednesday: AM: 60 min bike.  PM: 30 min yoga
Thursday: AM: 5 miles with friend @ 7:15 avg.  PM: 30 min bike + upper body lift.
Friday: 6 miles with friend, glute activation, drills, strides
Saturday: 7 miles + core, started easier and felt progressively better
Sunday: off, yoga class

Total: 30 miles + 110 min XT + 2 yoga sessions

Overall, this week went pretty well.  Mileage is still low.  My foot is still hurting on every run- it seems like once I hit the 30 minute mark during a run, the bunion pretty much decides that it doesn’t want to do it anymore.  Ow.  Still feeling strong during strength sessions, though!

I had a few runs this week that were faster than they should have been, so I made an effort to go easier on Saturday, and it felt a lot better.  It’s important to keep most of the mileage at maintenance effort right now in order to keep feeling good, getting strong, and building mileage!

In non-running-related news, I decided to go back to work at the ice cream and coffee place I worked last summer!  Had my first shift back on Friday night: 5-10:30 pm.  It was super busy, but I was reunited with the best ice cream ever (cinnamon, and coconut chocolate crunch.  Heck yes).

Also, we spent all day at my brothers’ tae kwon do black belt exam, and after five hours of testing, they both passed!  My youngest brother earned his first degree black belt, and my middle brother earned his second degree!

IMG_6243.jpg

Goons

Also made macarons with two good friends earlier this week.  I’m not a huge macaron fan, but they turned out well!  Turns out my family isn’t a huge macaron family, either…three days later, all of the macarons I kept are still sitting on the plate.

IMG_6256.jpg

Mileage will continue to increase in the coming weeks, albeit slower than last year’s progression.  I think I’ll hit somewhere in the mid-30s this week.  Additionally, I’m going to try to get in the pool at least once instead of just cross training on the bike every time.   The weather is supposed to stay mild (and rainy), which is encouraging.  I’ll also be working more and writing for the remote writing intensive!

Leave a Reply

