Summer Training Week 5 (40 miles + 10 mile hike + 60 min bike)

Drinking coffee, listening to “Acoustic Sunrise” on the radio, farmers’ market ventures, and dog-sitting…sounds like Sunday 🙂

IMG_6715.jpg

This week’s training was a little different.  My brother and I spontaneously decided to go backpacking on Thursday and Friday, so I skipped my planned run doubles but did complete a very technical 10-mile loop!  So running mileage was a little lower, but overall mileage still increased.  My legs/glutes are sore, and today will definitely be a rest day!  I’ll recap our backpacking trip in more detail in the next post.

IMG_6680.jpg

Week 5 (6/19-6/25):

Monday: AM: 7 miles on sidewalks + bike path.  Core circuit.  Some toe pain.  Heat/STIM/ice.  PM: 30 min bike.  1 hour slow flow yoga…spent lots of time upside down so almost passed out a couple times haha
Tuesday: AM: glutes, drills, 8 miles bike path, strides.  Toe pain.  Heat/ice/stim.  PM: 2 miles + lower body lift.  Tired!
Wednesday: 3 miles into 30 min bike.  Pretty hot out!  Tired, took it easy, went ok.
Thursday: AM: 6 miles bike path.  PM: Strenuous technical 3.5 mile hike.  Camped overnight. Didn’t sleep that well but it was awesome.
Friday: AM: Technical 6.5 mile hike.  Foot hanging in there.  PM: 3 miles.  STIM/ice on feet.
Saturday: 11 miles on bike path, partially soft surface.  15 min ice bath, easy core circuit, STIM on calves.
Sunday: off

Total: 40 miles running + 10 miles hiking + 60 min bike

Overall, this week went well!  No soft surface runs until yesterday’s long run, but I did hike 10 miles through swamps and rocks and dirt and pine needles, so that counts, right?

IMG_6646.jpg

Soft surface?

Nutrition this week was a little weird.   I ate a ton.  While backpacking, we fueled up with beef jerky, bars, dried fruit, etc.  We carted all of our food and water up the mountain and ate instant mac and cheese, campfire-blackened sausages, ramen, and the like for dinner on Thursday.  I also had quite a few treat meals, and for some reason gorged myself on ice cream last night at work, which made my stomach feel less than stellar 😉  But it seemed like my body just burned through everything due to the constant strenuous activity!  So I’m not too concerned.  I think I’ll try to reduce the amount of ice cream I’m consuming at work, though…

(Nutritious and delicious…)

Sleep was okay.  Some nights were fine, but I hardly slept some other nights.  I’m a little groggy right now.  It’s hard to implement my normal bedtime routine because I’ve been working until 11 pm and now have to take care of three dogs after work.  But I’m trying to relax about it!

I recently switched to custom orthotics instead of SuperFeet, and they’ve honestly been helping a ton!  I was having significant toe pain last week, but I’ve been able to get through all of my runs with little-to-moderate pain.  It’s still there, but it’s bearable!

Saturday’s 11-miler was the longest run I’d done since April!  And I only ran 11 miles about 3 times from January through May because of all the foot issues.  I ran four miles by myself before meeting up with a teammate for 7 more.  I’m excited to try to increase my long run again and get back to the 12 I was running last year, and maybe even see how 13 feels.  But for now, I’m happy to be able to run 11 🙂

Throughout the coming week, I’ll really have to plan things out as mileage increases, dog-sitting takes up more time, and work continues to be crazy.  I don’t know what I’ll hit, mileage-wise, but I’m going to work on listening to my body, fueling properly, and taking care of my foot.  Mileage is lower at this point than it was last year, but that is okay!  Consistent training is more important than reaching high mileage for a week or two and having to take time off because you broke yourself.

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Training Week 5 (40 miles + 10 mile hike + 60 min bike)

Leave a Reply

