Summer Training Week 6 (52-55 miles + 30 min bike)

Greetings!  Today is a big day- the whole family’s in town, my mom and her husband are having a “wedding” party to celebrate their marriage, and also I hit the highest mileage in months and hammered the shit out of my long run 😉

IMG_6878.jpg

Who am I??

Week 6 (6/26-7/2):

Monday:  AM: 7 miles + core.  Legs felt pretty fresh after yesterday’s rest day!  PM: 2 miles + 1 hour slow flow yoga class at Mind the Mat
Tuesday:  AM: 8 miles on sidewalks/bike path. Drills + strides.  Lift day 1- felt strong, going to be sore.  PM: 2 miles, tired but gradually better.  Some negative personal thoughts.  Boo.
Wednesday:  5 miles W&OD bike path.  Sore, tired, but decent run.  Didn’t do 30 XT double because felt like body needed a break.
Thursday:  AM: 7 miles on sidewalks/bike path.  Felt good!  10 min core.  PM: 30 min bike, some random intervals thrown in.   Lift day 2- went well!  I did 26 out of 36 chin-ups unassisted…the most ever!
Friday:  AM: drills, 8 miles on bike path, strides.  Didn’t feel great for most of it.  PM: 2 miles @ 8:00 pace on treadmill.  Started crappy, finished better.
Saturday:  “Carry the Flag” 5k in Georgetown with my 9-year-old neighbor.  He sprinted the first 100m and then wanted to stop.  We ran/walked a stellar 29:35.
Sunday: 11 miles on the bike path…hammered the whole run and hit 6:40s on the way back…and it was 80 degrees and 80% humidity.

Total: 52-55 miles + 30 min bike
 
I LOVE this mileage right now.  I love it love it love it.  My feet felt (comparatively) fantastic even though I completely slacked off on rehab stuff…hehe.  There’s something magical about orthotics.  This week’s running routes were quite boring and hard surface-y because I stuck to the bike path/sidewalks…didn’t get a chance to drive to soft surfaces because I don’t have time (have to hurry over to dog-sitting right after morning runs).
I didn’t sleep super well this week and actually felt really out of it on Friday and Saturday.  Got home really late some nights due to evening work shifts and dog sitting.  Also, my body image and attitude towards food has been in the toilet (for me).  Just keeping it real.  It’s been weird.  But today’s long run was a kick in the pants and helped me remember to focus on getting stronger and training properly rather than stupid negative body/self-talk.  I’m HELLA STRONG, man!  Gotta remember that!
This week’s weather was humid as heck and some days were really hot.  Classic.
My neighbors convinced me to run a 5k with their son yesterday, and it was definitely an experience…I’m not sure if I should actually count it towards mileage because we walked at least half of it.  But it was a learning experience for me because I had to figure out things to say and do to motivate a 9-year-old to not quit/die.  Learned a lot!
IMG_6858.jpg

Not sure what’s going on in this photo but we’ll roll with it

Today’s long run…ooh.  The rest of the week’s runs were really boring, honestly, and I wanted to spice it up, so I actually used a GPS for once and hammered the run from the beginning (which was definitely not boring!).  I ran on the bike path again because I’m too lazy to come up with new routes….was wondering why it felt so hard and looked at my splits at the end and literally came to a dead stop in the middle of the street and said “What the heck?”  The last 5 miles were in the 6:40s.  I never do that.  It all makes sense now.
So happy to be back at this mileage/training…excited and apprehensive for workouts to start…and I’m gonna take tomorrow’s runs eeeeasy.
Other highlights from this week:
My friend turned 20 and had a “Roaring 20s” themed birthday party.  It was awesome.  She is a walking Pinterest board.
IMG_6855.jpg
I made some homemade vanilla espresso raw almond butter…yessss.  Much better than paying $14 for one jar of Wild Friends…sorry Wild Friends, I love your nut butter but not that much.
IMG_6830.jpg
Oats eaten out of not-really-empty peanut butter jars are the best way to go.
IMG_6882.jpg
Excited for the weeks to come!  Workouts will start on Tuesday, and I hope that I will find people crazy enough to run them with me!
Leave a Reply

