“Garbage mileage”

This is kind of a mid-week weekly round-up because the past few days have been…interesting.

There’s always that point in training where the work you’ve done so far suddenly accumulates and your body feels like it’s been hit by a train.  If you’re doing it right and not overtraining, this feeling can last one day, a couple days…a week at most.  Then your body adjusts and you go back to feeling semi-normal.  However, if you’re overtraining, all of a sudden every run/lift/training session feels horrible for weeks on end.  Not good.

I had forgotten this feeling.  I think a lot of people can relate to this, but every time my training volume goes back up, I get complacent and think I’m invincible for a little while.  Until the accumulation of training volume happens, and then it’s a struggle to get out the door for a maintenance run 😉  Especially once the weather decides to never dip below 80 degrees or 80% humidity.  Ever.

After taking Sunday completely off, I felt surprisingly bad on Monday morning.  Two weeks ago, I joyfully bounded out the door the day after a complete rest day.  This week…nope.  My running buddy had to deal with my bitchiness for the first half of the run.  Eventually, I kinda warmed up, but no part of the 7 miles felt joyful.  That afternoon’s 3-miler was also “just another run.”

To make matters worse, I got sick on Monday night and spent the evening throwing up and lying curled up in the fetal position drinking ginger ale.  On Tuesday, I laid in bed for about 7 hours feeling weak and stressing about not doing the scheduled workout and being 11 miles under this week’s mileage.  Yeah.  I know, I’m insane and delusional.  Luckily, I felt progressively better throughout the day,before having a spurt of energy and jumping on the treadmill for 7 maintenance miles in the evening.  Again, I know.  I’m insane.  The run felt okay.  Nothing special.

Wednesday- hoo boy.  “You can go up to 6 miles as long as you feel fine,” I told myself. I drove to Roosevelt Island, and it was 80 degrees and 90% humidity at 7 am.  Right from the start, running felt impossible.  I struggled through every second of that miserable 5-miler.  My legs felt dead, my body felt heavy, my brain felt foggy.  That’s what you want!! 😉 I followed this nightmare up with a mediocre lifting session at the gym.

After four days of feeling like straight garbage, I was a walking pain in the ass.  Not a happy camper.  And the garbage-ness made me quite nervous to work out today.  Luckily, my friend volunteered to join me for the fartlek, and we did nine miles on the canal this morning.  It was already a sauna outside at 6:30 am, but we got it done.  While I didn’t feel great, it was significantly better than yesterday.  Did two miles on the treadmill after work, and my legs are, without a doubt, shot.

Runners are crazy!  It’s true.  When you’re in the thick of training, it’s easy to forget that what you’re doing is incredibly impressive, regardless of how fast you are/how many miles you’re running/what you’re training for.  It’s also easy to forget the importance of recovery and listening to your body and get caught up in the numbers/mileage/etc.  That is exactly where I’ve gone wrong this week, being the stubborn hypocritical collegian that I am, hehe.  I’ve been forcing myself to try to hit the mileage listed on my schedule rather than listening to my body because in the back (well, front) of my mind, I’m thinking, “Well, I ran X miles last year and I won’t be faster this year if I don’t run more miles than last year!”  I haven’t even wanted to cross train because my mileage would technically be lower (even if the workload is the same and it would be better for my joints, feet, body in general if I got in the freakin’ pool!).

Wow, writing that has made me realize that, um, Kathryn…you’re an idiot.

Soooo assuming I survive this week and make good decisions and my body doesn’t completely rebel, I’m going to take next week as somewhat of a recovery week, probs.  I’m writing this to keep myself accountable.  I do not need to be doing 7-3 doubles on maintenance days and 9-2 doubles on workout days if my body doesn’t want to.  The pool might be better on any given day!

Okay, sorry for all that…I think I’m done now…

Leave a Reply

