Tempo Tuesday (LOL)

Hoo boy.  Today’s workout was not amazing.  This week, I’m trying to hit high mileage (60+) while working six days in a row…rip Kathryn.  So far I’m 2 days and 20 miles in.  Currently chilling in my bed with my nightcap (fresh peach, homemade cookie dough bites, and Kombucha) after a long day of working out, working, and picking up furniture for my apartment off of Craigslist (lol), so I thought I’d recap the day’s workout before turning in for the night.

The workout: 2.5 mile warm-up, 4-5 mile tempo, 4 x [:60h, :60e], 2.5 cool down.

What actually happened: 2.5 mile warm-up, 4 miles (6:32, 6:29, 6:17, 6:05), 4 x [:60h, 60e], 2.5 cool down.

IMG_7587 (1).jpg

Ugh.  Honestly, it wasn’t great.  My body felt out of whack during the warm-up, during the drills, during the workout, and during the cool down.  The first two miles of the tempo were slowwww. The third mile was hilly, and I was not having any fun.  While I would have preferred to do a 5 mile tempo (and at a faster pace), I gave myself an out at 4 miles.  Really struggled the last 1/2 mile or so, so it was probably good that I stopped.

During the 4 x [:60, :60], I saw some runners from my high school’s team.  Seeing them working hard early in the morning motivated me to crush the little fartlek, so that portion of the workout actually went pretty well.  Hobby jogged the cool down and took an ice bath after stretching and rolling out.  I was freezing!  Refueled with a truly massive bowl of oatmeal.  This is getting ridiculous…

IMG_7590.jpg

The mileage total for the day was 10 miles.  I had a double on schedule, but I had zero desire to double after this morning and after working all day, so I elected to lie in my bed the second I got home instead 🙂

I’m not sure why I felt so poorly this morning.  Maybe it’s because I did a Meatless Monday yesterday and possibly lacked in protein?  Who knows.  Some days are just tougher than others!

Tomorrow is an easy recovery run with my friend that runs for another university.  I’m excited!  This week is going to be hard.  But it’s the last week of work before our training trip and move in!  Just gotta power through.  We can do hard things 🙂

Leave a Reply

