Summer Training Week 12: 62 miles

Happy Sunday!  I wrapped up the highest mileage week of my life so far (62 miles) with 3.5 miles this morning.  I am TIRED.  In just 7 hours, I will be done with work for the summer and headed to a concert with my friend! 🙌

IMG_7697.jpg

Post-run breakfast: apple pie egg white oats with strawberries and chia/flax PB, along with plain Greek yogurt

Week 12 (8/7-8/13):

Monday: AM: 7 miles, felt good! Drills, strides, core, short nap.  PM: 3 miles, felt good but distracted.  Total: 10 miles.

Tuesday:  20 min warm-up, drills, 4 mile tempo on W&OD bike path (6:32, 6:29, 6:17, 6:05), 2 min recovery, 4 x [60,60], 20 min c/d.  Ice bath.  Felt completely out of whack.  Not a stellar workout.  Mentally unfocused, ugh.  Total = 10 miles.  Worked 12-5 pm.

Wednesday:  6 miles with my friend on canal.  It was almost chilly outside!  Core.  Worked 5-10 pm.

Thursday:  AM: drills, 7 miles, strides on turf (2 strides barefoot).  Legs felt exhausted but bearable throughout the run.  Push-ups, dips, pull-ups, and squats.  Worked 12-5 pm.  PM: 3 miles home from work.  Tired but decent.

Friday: Workout at park/lake with teammate!! 20 min warm-up, drills, 7-5-7-5 with 2 min recovery on trail loop, 2 mile cool down.  Didn’t feel fresh but it was SO FUN and we talked the entire time (including during the workout…we just had a lot to catch up on)!   Total: 9 miles.  Ice bath.  Worked 5-11 pm RIP.  Also, OMG EMMA COBURN AND COURTNEY FRERICHS.

Saturday: 13.5ish miles (mostly downhill to Roosevelt Island, back uphill on Custis trail and W&OD).  Listened to podcasts and it was actually pretty enjoyable!  A tiny bit longer than I meant to go because I did a loop from my house.

Sunday: 3.5 miles

Total: 62 miles

Monday was good, Tuesday through Thursday were not great- I just felt really tired and run-down.  Luckily, I had running buddies for a lot of this week’s runs.  Friday was AWESOME just being with my teammate, and Saturday’s long run went pretty smoothly!  Worked six days in a row this week while trying to hit high mileage, which was kind of unpleasant…I definitely have a tendency to get stuck in an intense, over-the-top rut with summer training, but I had a couple good conversations with teammates that reminded me to relax.
It was nice and cool in the mornings this week, which was a pleasant change that made it a little easier to get out the door.
IMG_7675.jpg

Long run views!

Yesterday was the longest run I’ve done so far!  I went out for 100 minutes, since that’s what we did the last time I ran 13 miles, but my phone’s Health app said I had gone almost 14 miles at the end.  I don’t know how accurate it was, but my body sure felt like I’d gone that long!
IMG_7655.jpg
I didn’t sleep that well this week.  Tried to fit in naps wherever possible, which usually happened to be like 10:30 am and made me feel completely discombobulated for the rest of the day…oh well 😉 Nutrition was pretty strong!  Since I worked so many shifts, most of my lunches and dinners were “clean-out-the-fridge” meals eaten out of aesthetic Tupperwares at work.  We had the week off from lift, so I’m feeling a bit like a noodle.
In non-running news, I finished A Walk West (the second installment of A Walk Across America) and started What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day.  So far, I really like it.  Finally making a crack at the 5-for-$3 books from the used bookstore!
Tomorrow is our training trip!!  I CAN’T WAIT.  I went to Harris Teeter and Trader Joe’s this morning to stock up for the trip and managed to get 10 Siggi’s yogurts for $10 thanks to coupons and sales!  It was #lit.  It was only when I left the store that I realized I’m moving out in nine days.  There is a lot of yogurt in my immediate future.  Why am I like this…
IMG_7706.jpg

Generally stick to store-brand, but this was 10 for $10!!

Planning on dropping it down this coming week unless I feel shockingly good.  Overall, I’m sore, achey, and wish I could sleep instead of going to work today.  But just gotta get through one more shift!  #doitforthecarfund
Almost work time!  LAST SHIFT LEGGOOO.  Listening to Ed Sheeran’s older music while I get ready 🙂
4 thoughts on “Summer Training Week 12: 62 miles

  1. Great week of training! You’re making me miss my college running days! I can relate to the excessive amount of Siggis too. My husband and I always buy more than necessary whenever it is on sale. 😂 It’s by far our favorite yogurt!

      • Haha I’m impressed! 😊 You should try the Siggis tubes too. The blueberry is my favorite. They are intended for kids…but I eat them anyway. 😂 They remind me of Gogurt, but much healthier. I usually stick them in the freezer and have them for a “healthier” dessert.

Leave a Reply

